Chocolate Chip Cookies and Corcoran Gallery of Art

Chocolate Chip Cookies!

This morning,  I chose Valentine’s Day cards for some the best teachers in my life: my parents, my manager and my internship directors.

After my internship, I went to Target to see the entire Valentine’s Day candy section completely ravaged through. M & M’s, heart candies and heart-shaped boxes with assorted chocolates inside were in places that had nothing to do with the label beneath them. I, along with everyone else, searched for salvageable chocolate–and found some!

I stopped over at Giant to top off the list: chocolate chips and baking sheets. I made my first batch of chocolate chip cookies. They look amazing, but taste okay. They’re too melt-in-your-mouth on the inside.  I’m pretty sure I shouldn’t have used that much butter–even though it was half of what the recipe suggested.

Bake Rule #1: Too much or too little of an ingredient can make or break your bake. (Lol, tongue twister!)

Sunday: Corcoran Gallery of Art.

On Sunday, my dad and I went to see 30 Americans at the Corcoran Gallery of Art. My camera battery had begun to go out, but luckily I was able to get this shot of Holly Bass dancing in a glass cube above the gallery’s entrance. What an entrance!

I really wish I could have taken pictures of the show. My most favorite pieces were by artists Kehinde Wiley and iona rozeal brown. Their work was very unique; one made me think of a giant human sleeping, and the other made me think of a YouTube video I’d seen some months back about Japanese women and black culture.

A museum assistant told me I couldn’t take any photos, but I found a blogger who took photos at an earlier date, and posted them anyway. Check them out here.

For more on Kehinde Wiley, visit: http://www.kehindewiley.com/

For more on iona rozeal brown, visit: http://ionarozealbrown.com/

One thought on “Chocolate Chip Cookies and Corcoran Gallery of Art

Leave a Reply

