My Second Hip Hop Concert: Yasiin Bey (Mos Def) at D.C.’s 9:30 Club

For my second hip hop concert ever,  I went to see Yasiin Bey formerly known as Mos Def, at D.C.’s 9:30 Club. I remember seeing him act in movies Something the Lord Made and 16 Blocks. Yasiin is really talented. I thought it be a great experience to see him do what he’s most famous for.

I was supposed to stand with my friend, but by the time she showed, the place was packed and the only view she could get was from the balcony.

Thoughts on the Show

Yasiin Bey was quite the entertainer. He danced and really felt the lyrics in which he rapped and sometimes sang. Check it out:

My Big Moment

About two hours into the show, two girls from the front row left. I took their spot as quickly as I could. Though I was not able to take a picture with Yasiin, he did grab my hand from the crowd! It was the coolest!

I had a great time, but after three plus hours of standing around, my legs were beat. I ended up meeting my friend by the crowded coat check. After the concert, we headed over to Ben’s Chili Bowl where I got a very sweet strawberry milkshake to end the night.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

