1:36:12 Run Back Home

Well, it’s been a while folks. I’ve just returned from my year teaching ESL in Beijing followed by an awesome one-week vacation in Bangkok, Thailand. I’ve been home since the fourteenth of this month and have adjusted to the twelve-hour time difference and have also spent time with my parents. All is well as I search for writing jobs in the area [anywhere in the U.S.A. actually]. I’m back for at least a year or two and I’m really happy to be home.

As my loud alarm from upstairs woke me from the deepest sleep, I got up, put on running gear and headed out the door. I couldn’t believe I had gotten up and was sort of awake at 6 a.m. I managed to run from my house to 20th and Columbia Road with two stops–one very early on 12 minutes and then again before I conquered what I now call a killer hill, but what used to be an easy so long ago.

Running this morning, even though difficult, was fun. I was happy about why I was doing it. I really want to get back into shape and I know that running paired with eating well  is the way to get there. I’m proud because I went out and did it. It’s been since August 2012 that I ran in Beijing. It’s impossible to run in Beijing’s smog, so after two weeks of being there I stopped. The stuff in the sky isn’t healthy and  running in it is even worse. So, for a year, I’ve been inactive. Before my bike was stolen I used to ride it everywhere. Then winter came and the smog-filled days continued for what was year-round pollution…Though I only ran about 15 minutes, I kept moving the entire time.

I can’t wait to get back to my old self who ran an hour six days a week and ran 5,8, and 10Ks on occasion. In time, I know I’ll be back in the swing of things. I honestly needed this long overdue run–for my body, mind and spirit. I’m so glad I ran, I can feel things start to look up.

Well, time to apply to jobs!

Miles Ran: 1.65 miles

Total Miles in Motion [Running and Walking]: 4.76 miles

Goals: Run 30 minutes without stopping, keep active for an hour five days this week.

2 thoughts on “1:36:12 Run Back Home

  1. Hiyah!

    I just found your website about only in Korea 87 literally today and also read the note that you wouldn’t be posting on it anymore 😦
    Anyways, Im 20yrs old and graduating from Nursing this year but am going to do a post-grad next year then am planning to go teach in Korea in 2015- I’m excited/scared outta my brain and was wondering if you would be willing to kinda answer some questions I might have along the way that you’ve probably answered a gazillion times already? haha Do you have like an email I can reach you on or would you prefer for me to post on this page somewhere..? I saw your braces tag and was happy about that because I was considering getting my bottom row done there 🙂
    You seem to be the most interactive/friendly ex-ESL teacher in Korea so I thought I’d give it a shot and ask anyway 🙂
    Hope to hear from you soon!!

    Avi from New Zealand ^_^

    Like

Leave a Reply

