My Job Search in Washington, D.C. After a Year Abroad Teaching ESL

My job search has been a constant effort. Every day since I got off the plane, I’ve applied to jobs in the morning, sometimes all day. My daily routine was to click on job ads, constantly change my cover letter and tweak every web site with my professional profile. It was and is non stop. I did it to the point I couldn’t think anymore, to the point I felt stressed and angry about not getting any feedback and email rejections. Soon, my anger turned to depression. I started to feel sorry for myself…

Feeling Sorry

1. I felt sorry for myself because I was a 26-year-old living at home.

2. I felt sorry for myself because I was back where I was a year before–working a minimum wage job and two unpaid internships. I did that for nine months and feared I might repeat the process when I had already done so much.

3. I felt sorry because I wasn’t where I thought I should have been. I watched my friends and college buddies move up the professional ladder via Facebook and LinkedIn for three years and I was just starting to look for entry-level positions in my field.

But then, after moping around for a weekend, my parents became concerned. They said everything to make me get out of my funk. But it wasn’t working. The only way that would happen is if I started thinking positively. So, I changed my tune.

Changing My ‘Tude

How could I be upset when I’ve had the most amazing experiences of my life? I had been across the world, lived in two countries and visited another. I’d had some  ups, some downs, but have some of the best memories and met some awesome people I’ll never forget. I came so far and owe it to myself to go further.

I couldn’t put myself down because of where I thought I should be. I’m right where I should be and I’m proud of that. I mean, not everyone starts their career straight after graduating college, but for some, it works out.

A Step Back To Go Forward

Even though it feels like a step backward, I find it necessary so I can move forward.

But hey, lucky for me, I live at home in a great city with tons of opportunity. Until I find the right full-time job that will lead me to my next big break, I have no choice but to keep up the search and not give up.

My Job Search in Numbers

I’ve applied to ESL instructor, editorial assistant/fellowship/internship, administrative assistant and food service positions since May 2013. Here are the numbers:

Jobs Applied To: 165

May job count:5

June job count: 20

July job count: 22

August job count: 65

September job count: 53 (and counting)

Jobs rejected via email: 11

Time Spent Searching and Applying To Jobs: 4 hours to 5 hours a day.

But, I’ll keep consistent, something’s bound to happen soon.

One thought on “My Job Search in Washington, D.C. After a Year Abroad Teaching ESL

  1. I was curious to know if you thought about looking for employment in another state? Also (you may have mentioned this, so my apologies) knowing mandarin can make you an asset in the health care arena. Just FYI, I’ve been where you are and totally relate. Good luck and fortune in your job quest.

    Like

Leave a Reply

