Rockville Rotary Twilight Runfest (8K): A Race Reflection

image

Well what a change in atmosphere! I ran my first 8K of this year at night! It was good to see my fellow IC alum, Joel, and make new runner friends, Corinna and Lis.  We are all smiles in this pre-race pic.

What always amazes me is how nervous I get before a race. I was a nervous wreck all day!

During the race, I ran by many people.  At one point in the race I looked at a father-son duo and expressed how hard the race was. The course was nothing but hills. Ten minutes later, I was motivating others to keep going. At some point, I sped up around the 3.75 mark. All I can say is the human body is amazing!

My Race Reflections

1. Running a race is all mental. Sure you’re running with hundreds of other people, but it’s a single person effort. You have to be ready to get yourself to the finish.

2. I love water stations, as they give me a chance to walk! I don’t know how other people run and swallow properly.

3. It’s OK to get frustrated when things get tough. No one said road races were easy. They aren’t. Anyone who tells you different is a professional athlete/dedicated track star/high off adrenaline.

4. I will keep running races because of the end result: the sprint to the finish line, the feeling of immense accomplishment and race photos that say ‘Hey, I did this! I made it, I made it to the end!’

My official stats for this 8K:

Net time: 1:00:37      Pace: 12:24

image

image

image

image

image

image

"Darcars Rockville Rotary Twilight Runfest 2014 - Photo by Ken Trombatore" "Darcars Rockville Rotary Twilight Runfest 2014 - Photo by Ken Trombatore" "Darcars Rockville Rotary Twilight Runfest 2014 - Photo by Ken Trombatore"

Leave a Reply

